IMPACT Program Mentors and Faculty

Program Mentors

Faculty who are senior experts in clinical and translational research in heart or lung diseases with a strong track record of mentorship. IMPACT K12 Scholars will choose from this list a faculty member to serve as their primary mentor. K12 applicants who plan to work with a primary mentor not on this list should contact the K12 program directors to discuss.

Heart Diseases

Michelle Albert, MD, MPH 
Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, MD, PhD 
Margaret Fang, MD
Yoshimi Fukuoka, RN, PhD, FAAN 
Stanton Glantz, PhD 
Priscilla Hsue, MD 
Gregory Marcus, MD, MAS 
Jeffery Olgin, MD 
Mark Pletcher, MD
Jaekyu Shin, PharmD 
Marilyn Stebbins, PharmD 
Zian Tseng, MD, MAS
Mary Whooley, MD, FACP, FAHA, FACC 

Lung Diseases

John Balmes, MD 
Paul Blanc, MD, MSPH 
Esteban Burchard, MD, MPH 
Michael Cabana, MD, MPH 
Carolyn Calfee, MD, MAS 
Adithya Cattamanchi, MD, MAS 
Harold Collard, MD 
Adams Dudley, MD, MBA 
Laurence Huang, MD 
Laura Koth, MD 
Stephen Lazarus, MD 
Payam Nahid, MD, MPH 
Prescott Woodruff, MD, MPH 

Program Faculty

Faculty may or may not be involved in heart or lung disease research but have methodologic expertise in an implementation science-relevant discipline.IMPACT K12 Scholars will choose up to three program faculty at a time to provide tutorials and 1:1 mentoring in order to develop skills and practical experience in disciplines important to their research and/or career development.

Andrew Auerbach, MD
Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, MD, PhD
Claire Brindis, PhD, MPH
Atul Butte, MD, PhD
Michael Cabana, MD, MPH
Adithya Cattamanchi, MD, MAS
Janet Coffman, MA, MPP, PhD
Carol Dawson-Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN 
Daniel Dohan, PhD 
Adams Dudley, MD, MBA 
Alicia Fernandez, MD 
Dominik Frosch, PhD 
Maria Glymour, ScD, MS 
Ralph Gonzales, MD, MSPH 
Kevin Grumbach, MD 
Margaret Handley, PhD, MPH 
Joan Hilton, DSc, MPH 
Mallory Johnson, PhD 
James G. Kahn, MD, MPH 
Dhruv Kazi, MD, MS 
John Kornak, PhD 
Margot Kushel, MD 
Marguerita Lightfoot, PhD 
Harold Luft, PhD 
Audrey Lyndon, RN, PhD, FAAN
Charles McCulloch, PhD 
Janet Myers, PhD, MPH 
Dean Schillinger, MD
Laura Schmidt, PhD, MSW, MPH 
Justin White, PhD 

Faculty Expertise

Big Data Science/Clinical Informatics: Atul Butte, John Kornak
Biostatistics: Joan Hilton, Charles McCulloch
Community Engagement: George Grumbach, Laura Schmidt
Epidemiology: Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Maria Glymour
Health/Behavioral Economics: James G. Kahn, Harold Luft, Justin White
Health Policy: Claire Brindis, Michael Cabana, Adams Dudley
Improvement Science: Andrew Auerbach, Ralph Gonzales, Harold Luft
Intervention Theory and Design: Adithya Cattamanchi, Ralph Gonzales, Margaret Handley
Program Impact/Evaluation: Claire Brindis, Janet Coffman, Janet Myers
Psychology/Behavior Change: Mallory Johnson, Marguerita Lightfoot
Qualitative and Mixed Methods Research: Carole Rose-Dawson, Dan Dohan, Dominik Frosch, Audrey Lyndon
Simulation Modeling: Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, James G. Kahn, Dhruz Kavi
Social Determinants/Health Disparities: Dean SChillinger, Margot Kushel, Alicia Fernandez
Sociology: Janet Myers, Laura Schmidt