Vittinghoff Innovation Award Call for Entries

We are encouraging nominations for the Vittinghoff Innovation Award. The $500 award – which honors Professor Eric Vittinghoff, MPH, PhD, for his vast contributions to epidemiological research – recognizes methodologically innovative work in epidemiologic, clinical, or translational research by current or recent trainees of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

Nominations are open to participants or graduates within the last five years of the Department’s PhD, Master in Advanced Studies in Clinical Research, Advanced Certificate in Clinical Research and Online Certificate in Implementation Science programs. The winner will be honored with a plaque and $500.

The 2021 submission deadline is July 1 and the awardee will be announced in August.

In over 400 peer-reviewed publications (and still counting), Professor Vittinghoff has contributed to fundamental discoveries in HIV/AIDS, cardiovascular disease, kidney disease, women’s health and musculoskeletal disease. Ever in demand by collaborators in these and other areas, he has brought the utmost rigor in statistical and research methods to these projects, while being generous with his time in working with trainees.

Award Criteria:

  • The development or application of new research methods or the adoption of existing research methods to a new application in a new area.
  • Most innovative or high-impact application of novel (with respect to prior work in the area) methods to strengthen research findings.

How to apply/submit a paper

The trainee or their mentor can submit a paper, preferably with a one-page cover letter explaining the importance of the paper in the context of the research area. The paper can be in preparation, under review, or published, and the winner should be prepared to share at least the abstract publicly. If the trainee is not the first author of the paper, please explain trainee’s role in the cover letter. The paper will be circulated to a review committee. Please submit applications to [email protected].

Past Winners:

  • Heidi Moseson, 2016
  • Megha Mehrotra, 2017
  • Kathryn Ray, 2018
  • Michelle Roh, 2020